2012-2013 Board

Executive Committee

  • President  – Jina Dhillon
  • First Vice President –  Tara Romano
  • Second Vice President – Vacant
  • Secretary – Heather Williams (Planned Parenthood Central NC)
  • Treasurer – Catherine Adamson

Directors for Policy

  • Tazra Mitchell (NC Justice Center)
  • Pat Orrange (Women’s Forum of NC)
  • Kay Paksoy (National Association of Social Workers – NC Chapter)
  • Carey Pope (Ipas)

Directors at Large

  • Peggy Heilig (League of Women Voters NC)
  • Kathy McCullough-Testa
  • Rob Powell (NC Coalition Against Sexual Assault)
  • Nancy Shoemaker (AAUW NC)
  • Two vacancies

Thanks to

Hillary Waugh Bruce and Cindy Jones who served partial terms on the board during 2012-2013.

Governance Committee

The NCWU Governance Committee has members from the board and from the member organizations. Its members are elected for one-year terms. Under an experiment approved by the board, at the 2011 and 2012 annual meetings only two members were elected instead of the full five. They will recruit other NCWU supporters for specific tasks.

  • Catherine Adamson
  • One vacancy


Earlier boards: 2011-2012