Announcing Slate of Candidates for 2013-2014 Board

The NCWU Governance Committee has recruited and the Executive Committee has approved the following slate for the 2013-2014 leadership.  After additional nominations from the floor, the election of these candidates will be at the NCWU Annual Meeting on Tuesday, June 25 (more details).  The votes will be cast by representatives of the NCWU member organizations.

Notations below include, where applicable, affiliations with NCWU Member Organizations.
More on NCWU Governance

2013-2014 Slate for the Board of Directors

Executive Committee
President: Tara Romano
First Vice President: Heather Williams (Planned Parenthood of Central NC)
Second Vice President*: Tazra Mitchell (NC Justice Center)
Treasurer: Carey Pope (Ipas)
Secretary*: Kay Paksoy (NASW-NC Chapter)

Directors for Policy*
Emma Akpan
Laura Sisler 

Directors at Large
Kara Davies
Kelsey Kemp
Roberta Madden
Lauren Periera
Rob Powell (National Coalition Against Sexual Assault)
Heysoll Rodriguez

More about these candidates

*These positions had two year terms starting on July 1, 2012. Those elected to theses positions are filling vacancies and will serve for the one year remaining, not for the usual two-year term.

If elected, these candidates will join the following board members whose terms end in 2014:

Director for Policy: Pat Orrange
Immediate Past President: Jina Dhillon

This slate has one vacancy in the position of Director for Policy.

We thank the following board members whose terms are ending:

Treasurer Catherine Adamson
Directors at Large: Peggy Heilig, Kathy McCullough-Testa, Nancy Shoemaker

We also thank First VP Hillary Waugh Bruce and Director at Large Cindy Jones who served part of 2012-2013 on the board.

More on current board and affiliations

2013-2014 Slate for the Governance Committee

The members will also elect the NCWU Governance Committee that will be responsible for the 2014-2015 slate and other issues concerning the health of the board. The candidates proposed for that position are:

Kathy McCullough-Tests
(one vacancy)